Made in China

As I was doing my required reading to give my insight for China via this wordpress, I stumbled upon this snippet: http://mashable.com/2009/06/02/china-blocks-twitter-and-almost-everything-else/. After reading it initially I was shocked that China would block sites such as Twitter, Flickr, and other American social networking mediums. Then, I was more shocked at my western ethnocentrism. It’s interesting of how our cultural “norms” can go viral. As an American, I believe that it is an inalienable right for individuals to have access to which ever social mediums they choose. This may not be the case for China.  While many of the individuals who commented on this post were outraged, I think that with careful digging they could understand that perhaps China only chooses to allow their citizens to utilize social networking sites made in China.

 

It would be an unfair statement to say that the Chinese government is taking away citizens rights by not allowing them to visit certain sites.  Chinese spend a more significant amount on the internet per week than Americans. Additionally, there are a vast number of Chinese created social networking sites that are frequented. It is my theory that what China is doing by blocking certain social networking sites will be the start of cultural social networking. Social networking is as universal phenomenon but as more countries begin developing their own social networking site we begin to see cultural divides. I believe this will increase as social networking continues to expand.

5 Responses to Made in China

  1. You offer an interesting counterintuitive idea to the censorship in China that most people talk about, sharing that it may perhaps be a form of cultural social networking. There are many arguments against this point of view – such as the prevalence of Orkut in Brazil that we saw as something of a cultural phenomenon, and yet Brazil itself does not block Facebook or any other sites. What is needed to support your idea here is some discussion of whether this censorship does or does not extend to sites that are “made in China.” (3)

  2. sroneill says:

    Interesting post! I agree with your statement that as online social networking grows internationally, we will begin to see cultural divides. I’m not sure it is possible for Facebook to ‘take over the world’ entirely. Since there are similar sites popping up in various countries that are adapted to and tailor-made for that specific country (language, culture, loyalty, etc.), how can it compete? Over time, do you think it will be common place for everyone worldwide to understand online etiquette according to a given country (without taking Global CC)?

  3. Evan Taylor says:

    Interesting perspective…who are we to define cultural norms. I wanted to write about this in my post but I found myself playing on both sides of the fence. I did find this interesting article that gave the Chinese Govt perspetive.
    http://tinyurl.com/l7nooz

  4. shayvg says:

    Very interesting perspective. I definitely think it’s unique to show how our cultural norms can affect the way we view things in other countries. It’s completely understandable to view the world from our own lens, however, we it’s nice to get the other side of the story.

  5. Misha Hutchison says:

    Interesting. I do wonder about the breakdown of Chinese censorship, in terms of (like Rohit mentioned)whether the censorship extends to sites created in China. I also wonder what this means to other countries that are becoming more social media savvy, and as social media develops and becomes more popular, will there be cultural divides?

Leave a Reply

